Sacu Efta Free Trade Agreement

This agreement was transposed into South African law within the meaning of the Customs and Excise Act of 1964 by the publication in Communication R.1255 (GG 29455 of 15 December 2006) and came into force on January 1, 2008 under Communication R.1231 published in GG 30601 of December 12, 2007. IiA Mapping Project The IIA Mapping Project is a cooperative initiative between UNCTAD and universities around the world to represent the content of II A. The resulting database serves as a tool to understand trends in CEW development, assess the prevalence of different policy approaches, and identify examples of contracts. The Mapping of IIA Content allows you to browse the results of the project (the page will be regularly updated as new results become available). Please quote: UNCTAD, Mapping of IIA Content, available at More information: Mapping Project Page Project Description – Methodology document In accordance with the agreement, EFTA states had to abandon all tariffs to EFTA states as soon as the agreement came into force, when SACU states had until 2014 time to slowly reduce their tariffs. In addition, EFTA ensures that it acts in accord with the principles of economic cooperation and support. Due to the asymmetry of the economic development of the parties, EFTA grants several concessions to Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia and Swaziland to promote the development of these countries. The agreement covers trade in goods and lays the groundwork for a new commitment by the parties in the areas of intellectual property, investment, trade in services and public procurement. A joint commission is established to monitor and manage the agreement and provisions for consultation and dispute resolution procedures are included.

The trade agreement between the South African Customs Union (SACU) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is a free trade agreement signed in 2006 and entered into force on 1 May 2008. It comprises 9 countries: 4 are EFTA members (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) and 5 are saCU members (Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland). The aim of the agreement is to deepen relations between the parties, create favourable conditions for trade and promote economic integration and social development in SACU Member States, with the support of EFTA. In Article 27, the contracting parties confirm that they will endeavour to broaden the scope of this agreement in order to further liberalize trade in services. Free trade agreement between the countries of the European Free Trade Association and the countries of the South African Customs Union (EFTA-SACU Free Trade Agreement) In 2010, the SACU secretariat also commissioned a study on a possible trade agreement between SACU and the East African Community (EAC). In 2011, SACU endorsed a number of principles that guide free trade agreements and prioritized the continuation of agreements with Mercosur and India. The agreement established a joint committee to oversee the implementation of the trade agreement. This committee met for the first time on 4 February 2009 in Pretoria, South Africa, preceded on 3 February 2009 by meetings of agricultural experts and the subcommittee on customs and origin.

SACU has signed a trade agreement with the countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The agreement came into force on May 1, 2008. Trade between the parties to this agreement is reciprocal and SACU-EFTA tariffs are reduced as a percentage of general tariffs for products originating in countries with which Botswana has no commercial age. As part of the agreement, the parties grant and guarantee adequate, effective and non-discriminatory protection of intellectual property rights (patents, copyrights, commercial drawings, undisclosed information, geographical indications) and guarantee the application of these rights against infringements (counterfeiting, piracy).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.